Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

House Press Gallery

U.S. House of Representatives

December 4, 2017

Proceedings of


Monday, December 4, 2017

Met at 6:00 PM


Journal approved.


Frankel (D), FL led the House in the Pledge of Allegiance.


Message from the Senate received (passed with amendment H.R. 1 – Tax Cuts and Jobs Act).


One Minutes  


  1. Foxx (R), NC (Constituent Tributes)
  2. Frankel (D), FL (Sexual Harassment)
  3. Kelly, Mike (R), PA (Blue Ribbon Schools)
  4. Jackson Lee (D), TX (FBI)
  5. Engel (D), NY (GOP Tax Bill)


Chair declared the House in recess at


Chair reconvened the House at 6:30 PM.


H.R. 1 – Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (motion to go to conference)


Brady (R), TX motion to disagree to the Senate amendment and request a conference:

Neal (D), MA asked recorded vote - 6:32 PM


YEAS 222      NAYS 192


AGREED TO             7:05 PM


Sent to conference.


Neal (D), MA motion to instruct conferees (disagree with section 11081 relating to elimination of shared responsibility payment for individuals failing to maintain minimum essential coverage, and recede from section 1303 relating to repeal of deduction for certain taxes not paid or accrued in a trade or business).


Debate – 1 Hour          7:08 PM


  1. Neal (D), MA
  2. Brady (R), TX
  3. Levin (D), MI
  4. Roskam (R), IL
  5. Doggett (D), TX
  6. Reed (R), NY
  7. Thompson (D), CA
  8. Rice (R), SC
  9. Larson (D), CT
  10. Schweikert (R), AZ
  11. Blumenauer (D), OR
  12. Pascrell (D), NJ
  13. Crowley (D), NY
  14. Davis (D), IL
  15. Higgins (D), NY
  16. Sewell (D), AL
  17. DelBene (D), WA
  18. Sanchez (D), CA
  19. Chu (D), CA
  20. Kelly (R), PA
  21. Clyburn (D), SC
  22. Hoyer (D), MD
  23. Pelosi (D), CA


Neal (D), MA asked recorded vote - 8:27 PM


YEAS 186      NAYS 233




Speaker announced conferees (Brady, Nunes, Roskam, Black, Noem, Walden, Shimkus, Neal, Levin, Doggett, Castor, Bishop, Young, and Grijalava).


One Minutes


  1. Ros-Lehtinen (R), FL (Jamie Dupree)
  2. Payne (D), NJ (Hillside Comets Football)
  3. Poe (R), TX (Brock Turner Conviction)
  4. Kaptur (D), OH (Republican Tax Plan)
  5. Tenney (R), NY (Bella the White-Tailed Deer)
  6. Thompson (R), PA (National CTE Teacher of the Year Joe Luther)
  7. LaMalfa (R) CA (Tax Cuts and Jobs Act)


Special Orders


  1. Gohmert (R), TX (#GohmertHour) 9:08 PM


The House adjourned at 9:50 PM until 10:00 AM Tuesday.